The Chimes - The Chimes - (1990)[FLAC-EAC-CUE]

seeders: 0
leechers: 2
Added in Music > Lossless
Torrent verified. Downloaded 10 times.

  • Artist: The Chimes
  • Album: The Chimes
  • Format: flac - lossy
  • Summary []: The Chimes were a successful dance music trio from Scotland, featuring vocalist Pauline Henry (born 29 January 1961) with Mike Peden and James Locke. They are best known for their hits "Heaven" and a remake of U2's "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For," which became a UK Top Ten hit. In the U.S. they reached the Billboard Hot 100 with the song "1-2-3," at #86 in 1990. It spent two weeks at #1 on the Hot Dance Music/Club Play chart, and its follow-up, "Heaven," was a #1 dance chart hit.
The Chimes - The Chimes - (1990)[FLAC-EAC-CUE] (Size: 336.79 MB)
  01 - The Chimes - Love so tender.flac 15.16 MB
  02 - The Chimes - Heaven.flac 24.36 MB
  03 - The Chimes - True love.flac 23.83 MB
  04 - The Chimes - 1-2-3.flac 21.52 MB
  05 - The Chimes - Underestimate.flac 24.77 MB
  06 - The Chimes - Love comes to mind.flac 30.52 MB
  07 - The Chimes - Don't make me wait.flac 22.4 MB
  08 - The Chimes - Stronger together.flac 24.13 MB
  09 - The Chimes - I still haven't found what i'm looking for.flac 37.14 MB
  10 - The Chimes - Stay.flac 27.17 MB
  11 - The Chimes - I still haven't found what i'm looking for (street mix).flac 35.76 MB
  12 - The Chimes - Heaven (physical mix).flac 49.73 MB
  The Chimes - The Chimes - (1990)[FLAC-EAC-CUE].txt 3.45 KB
  The Chimes - The Chimes.m3u 1.06 KB
  The Chimes.cue 1.97 KB
  The Chimes.log 3.22 KB
  Torrent downloaded from 47 bytes
  Track List.txt 443 bytes


The Chimes - The Chimes - (1990)[FLAC-EAC-CUE]

Track list.

The Chimes - The Chimes

01. Love so tender 03:01
02. Heaven 03:52
03. True love 03:49
04. 1-2-3 03:24
05. Underestimate 04:12
06. Love comes to mind 04:52
07. Don\'t make me wait 04:02
08. Stronger together 03:53
09. I still haven\'t found what i\'m looking for 05:33
10. Stay 04:40
11. I still haven\'t found what i\'m looking for (street mix) 06:19
12. Heaven (physical mix) 08:27

Scottish R&B trio the Chimes formed in 1988 when multi-instrumentalists and producers Mike Peden and James Locke (formerly of the synth-poppers Fiction Factory) drafted singer Pauline Henry to sing on some dance-pop demos they had recorded. The resulting tracks got the trio signed to CBS Records, who released their first single, \"Love So Tender,\" in 1989. Though the single was a critical hit, thanks largely to Henry\'s expressive but controlled voice, it was not a particularly strong-seller. The trio hooked up with Soul II Soul\'s Jazzie B and Nellee Hooper, the club producers of the moment, to record the follow-up, \"1-2-3,\" which was a bigger hit, though a less-interesting song. Third time was the charm, however, as the trio\'s next single, a canny acid house reworking of U2\'s \"I Still Haven\'t Found What I\'m Looking For,\" reached the U.K. Top Ten.
Their debut album, 1990\'s The Chimes, was a minor hit in the U.K. and a critical and college radio favorite in the U.S., but Henry left Locke and Peden later that year for a solo career. Her first solo album, 1994\'s Pauline, scored a minor hit with another unexpected remake, a trip-hop version of Bad Company\'s \"Feel Like Makin\' Love.\" Locke became an indie producer, helming albums for acts like the Glasgow dream pop quartet the Bathers. Peden became a noted producer and remixer on the British underground dance scene of the \'90s, with credits on a huge number of singles and albums.
In 2001, a collection of single sides, remixes, and album tracks, I Still Haven\'t Found What I\'m Looking For, was released.

The Chimes\' sole album is proof that commercial dance pop can have artistic viability as well as chart potential. A mixture of hip influences (Soul II Soul\'s Jazzie B and Nellee Hooper produced two tracks, including the meaty acid house single \"1-2-3\") and the polish of soul and pop veterans (Pete Wingfield plays piano on most of the album, and other guests range from the Hooters\' Eric Bazilian to \'70s studio pro Ralph Schuckett), The Chimes is a completely solid and credible album with thankfully little of the overdone slickness and shrieking pseudo-soul of pretenders like Mariah Carey or Whitney Houston. (In fact, it\'s possible that the low-key dignity of this album is why it wasn\'t a bigger chart hit, though it received rave reviews both in the US and the trio\'s native Great Britain.) Pauline Henry\'s expressive but controlled voice is powerful without resorting to the tiresome trills and oversinging of so many of her R&B contemporaries, and multi-instrumentalist producers James Locke and Michael Peden combine pop, dance and soul influences into a seamless, sleekly danceable blend. The album\'s biggest hit, a gospel-tinged remake of U2\'s \"I Still Haven\'t Found What I\'m Looking For,\" finds new levels of power in that over-played song, and its inclusion make perfect thematic and musical sense instead of being the desperate plea for chart attention it might have been in less capable hands.


Related Torrents

torrent name size files age seed leech

Sharing Widget

Download torrent
336.79 MB
The Chimes - The Chimes - (1990)[FLAC-EAC-CUE]

To share this torrent use the code below and insert it into comments, status messages, forum posts or your signature.

Torrent: The Chimes - The Chimes - (1990)[FLAC-EAC-CUE]


tracker name
ĀµTorrent compatible trackers list


Torrent hash: 406cdb8e5960180b5ee2bb9cd7ad18549e80d95d

All Comments

please, leave only comments related to that torrent
Sign In

Report a bug Open chat